Chocolate Hazelnut Brownie Hearts

IMAG2009

With today being Valentine’s Day, I thought of making something sweet and simple as a treat. We don’t celebrate V-Day but I do appreciate the idea of celebrating with your loved one(s). Since I had some hazelnuts and chocolate in the fridge, I thought of making some kind of brownie. I love fudgy brownies..I mean what LOVE brownies. But I dont make it often as I tend to scoff most of it.

And then I saw this….600_X_IMG_3316_fudgy_brownie_hearts_with_fresh_raspberry_frosting

Aren’t they adorable! I liked the idea but I didnt have any berries on hand, so I used some good-quality strawberry jam instead. I used the brownie recipe from an issue of GoodFood magazine. Easy, quick and absolutely fudgy with a nice crunch from the hazelnuts. Right now, the brownie hearts are hidden in the fridge while I wait for Mr Hubby to get home so that I can surprise him 🙂 Cant wait!

Chocolate Hazelnuts Brownie Hearts (Adapted from GoodFood magazine)

120g butter
140g dark chocolate (60% or more cocoa solids)
2 eggs
1 tsp vanilla extract
100g soft brown sugar
75g sugar
50g flour
25g hazelnuts (roughly chopped)

Heat oven to 180C. Grease a rectangular baking pan and line with foil. Melt the butter in a pan over medium-low heat, then remove from heat and stir in the broken chocolate. Leave to stand til chocolate melts, then stir again. Set mixture aside.

Whisk the eggs and vanilla extract for about 3 mins, til light and fluffy. Then whisk in the sugars in 2 additions. Pour in the chocolate mixture around the side of the egg mixture so as not to knock out the air. Keep whisking til mixture thickens slightly. Fold in the flour and 1/4 tsp salt. Pour into the pan. Sprinkle over the nuts on the top (I sprinkled on half of the batter as I wanted to use half of the brownies to be plain to make the bottom layer). Bake for 30 min til skewer comes out with some crumbs on it. Let cool completely.

Lift out the brownies and use heart-shaped cookie cutters to cut out brownie hearts. Dab a little strawberry jam on the top of a plain brownie heart. Spread the jam carefully and top with a hazelnut brownie. Serve with some icing sugar sifted on the top.

IMAG2001IMAG2003IMAG2004

IMAG2005

IMAG2007

IMAG2008

Leave a Reply

