Lunches for the week #3

Time really flies..its already the end of the 3rd week of Jan. MilkyBar is doing really well in his new Maths class. And he looks so cute when he works on his abacus exercises 🙂

This week’s lunches were well-received by the lunch-er. I tried a couple of new recipes from a bento book I got from the library titled Just Bento and from a book I bought from a library booksale titled Better Food for Kids (I love this book!)

Monday – Sausage and Mixed Veg fried rice, with Sesame Egg (from the Just Bento book) and cherry tomatoes

Tuesday – Vegetable and Beef Stew served with bread

Wednesday – Broccoli, Carrot, Green Beans, Peas and Chicken Brown Rice casserole (the same as the one from Week 1)

Thursday – leftover Spaghetti Bolognaise from last night’s dinner

Friday – no cooking

My simple lunch bento – Fried rice, Sesame egg and cherry tomatoes

I am starting to really enjoy looking at bento and bento cooking. Although I do not like the cutie-looking ones for children (as I find them to fiddly and I prefer not to disguise food for children), I do like the ideas for simple bento and the way the food is presented and how they are portioned. I do a very basic form of bento when I pack MilkyBar’s tea-time for when we have afternoon classes, as well as for lunch sometimes, just for fun. As a beginner in the art of bento, I found that The Just Bento book and website was very informative and has some great ideas that I have earmarked to try out.

IMAG1843

Vegetable and Beef Slow-Cooker Stew (adapted from Better Food for Kids book)

1 1/2 tbsp vegetable oil
200g beef (cut into small dice)
2 cups water/beef stock
1 bay leaf
1/2 tsp dried oregano
1/2 can diced/stewed tomatoes (I used some leftover pasta sauce instead)
1 potato, 1 carrot, 2 stalk celery (peeled and diced)
4-6 fresh button mushrooms (sliced)
2 tbsp corn flour
4 tbsp water

In a frying pan, heat the oil. Add the beef and let cook til browned all over. Remove. In the slow-cooker pot, add the beef and the rest of the ingredients (except for the corn flour and water). Stir and season. Leave to cook on High for about 4-5 hrs. When the beef is tender, stir the corn flour into the water and add to the pot to thicken the stew. Leave to cook for another 1/2 hr. Serve hot with bread/rolls/crackers.

Enjoying his teatime bento - Fruit bun, Grapes and Cherry, and Goldfish crackers

Enjoying his teatime bento – Fruit bun, Grapes and Cherries cup, and Goldfish crackers

Leave a Reply

