We love Banana Bread!

I absolutely love banana bread and collecting banana bread recipes. There are endless variations. Some are rather subtle additions while others use really out-there combinations. At last count, I think I have close to 30 recipes for banana cake/tea bread/loaf. And just when I thought I had found my ultimate recipe (the one that I have memorised by heart),  I stumble on to this! Nigel Slater’s Chocolate, Muscovado Banana Cake, from his Kitchen Diaries II book.

Banana bread is a cinch to put together and it fills the house with a sweet, homey, welcoming smell while baking. That is why I chose to make a loaf as my way of welcoming Mr Hubby back home from his trip. The loaf turned out beautifully. It had just the right level of caramel-ly sweetness and a good balance of fruit-to-cake ratio.

I used half muscovado sugar and half brown sugar, and substituted chocolate chips for the chopped dark chocolate as I did not have any (Note to self: Add baking chocolate to this week’s shopping list).

I also made Carrot Cake muffins to welcome my sis back home this week. I will post about that very soon 🙂

Nigel Slater’s Chocolate, Muscovado Banana Cake

250g all-purpose flour
2 tsp baking powder
125g softened butter
235g muscovado sugar/dark brown sugar (I used a combination)
3-4 bananas (mashed with a fork)
1 tsp vanilla extract
2 eggs
100g dark chocolate (chopped)/chocolate chips

Preheat the oven at 180C.  Line a loaf tin with parchment paper.

Cream the butter and sugars in a bowl with a mixer (I did this by hand with some help from MilkyBar) til fluffy. Add the eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition. Sift the flour and baking powder together. Mix the vanilla extract with the mashed bananas.

Add the bananas into the creamed butter mixture and stir well. Add in the flour and fold in gently. Add in the chocolate and gentle fold in til just combined. Pour batter into the loaf tin and bake for 50 min, til done.  Leave to cool for 15 min in the loaf tin before removing. Serve.

Love the colours - Muscovado and Brown sugar

Love the colours – Muscovado and Brown sugar

Creaming the butter and sugars

Creaming the butter and sugars

Mashing the bananas

Mashing the bananas

Adding choc chips to the banana batter

Adding choc chips to the banana batter

Ready to go into the oven

Ready to go into the oven

Chocolate Banana Bread

Chocolate Banana Bread

Chocolate and Banana Bread

Chocolate Muscovado Banana Bread

2 thoughts on “We love Banana Bread!

Leave a Reply

